Miss Piggy: Feminist icon and martial arts hero?

What a Pig!

The Feminist kind, that is

Fit Is a Feminist Issue

image

In Listen to the Pig Skepchick writes: “As far as I am concerned, Ms. Piggy is one of the strongest female characters in popular culture in the past 50-odd years. Piggy proves, time and again, that she is a strong, confident woman who can go toe-to-toe.. or snout-to-snout with anyone else. But I might be wrong. Let’s analyze a little, shall we?”

She goes on to give reasons why Miss Piggy is a feminist icon. And of course, her martial arts prowess is one of the reasons.

I agree. I’m a big fan of Miss Piggy.

Tough, feminine, and a fighter. I like that combo.

And so when a call for papers on Jim Henson and philosophy hit my mailbox this week, my thoughts turned to the pig. I mentioned the themes that interested me and a friend suggested a title. It’s “Miss Piggy’s Feminism: Redefining Human Relationships Through Martial…

View original post 432 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

